Jefferson County Tax|Motor Vehicles (2024)

Overview

Tags are due on or before your birthday, unless it's in a Business name or IRP. You can renew your tags online at Renew Tags Online. You will need your license plate or VIN and your drivers license or letter ID.

If you have purchased a new vehicle or looking at buying one, you can find out how much TAVT you will owe by clicking the link. Calculate TAVT (Title Tax) . You will need the VIN of the vehicle.

For all other online tag, registration and related services, such as going green, cancelling your registration, changing your address, etc., visit https://eservices.drives.ga.gov/.

As of March 2013 there will no longer be sales tax on the purchase of motor vehicles. A 6.6% Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT) is now required on every title transfer based on the State's fair market value and is due at the time of the title transfer.

Motor Vehicle Services

New residents to Georgia must have the following documents in order to register a vehicle:

Vehicle With No Lien

  1. Out of State Title
  2. Current Registration from Previous State
  3. Proof of Georgia Insurance
  4. Georgia Drivers License with Jefferson County Address
  5. Current Mileage

Vehicle With Lien
  1. Loan Agreement with Complete Name and Address of Lien Holder
  2. T-17 Affidavit of Lien Holder (available at tag office)
  3. Proof of Georgia Insurance
  4. Georgia Drivers License with Jefferson County Address
  5. Current Mileage

Taxes

Taxes on Motor Vehicles are due on the owner's birth date. Vehicles owned by a business pay tax based on the first letter of the Business name. The tax is based on the 40% value of the vehicle. Taxes are due on a vehicle, even when the vehicle is not in use.

Fees

Tag Fee for passenger vehicles and trucks weighing up to 14,000 loaded $20.00

  • Title Transfer Fee: $18.00
  • Trailer Tag Fee: $12.00*
  • Replacement Tag, Decal, or Title: $8.00
*Trailers with a gross vehicle weight of less than 2,000 pounds are not required to be titled in Georgia. The previous registration is required.

Trucks with a gross vehicle weight over 14,000 (Truck and load) fees are based on the weight.

Certain persons may be eligible for a handicapped tag or parking placard.

New Residents

New residents must title and register their vehicles within thirty days of establishing residency in Georgia. A Georgia Driver's License must be obtained with your current address before registering your vehicle. New to Georgia will pay 3% TAVT and it is all due at the time of title transfer and registration.

Vehicles Bought From Dealer

Vehicles bought from dealer must be registered within 30 days from the date of purchase. The dealer will be responsible for collecting the TAVT and sending to the county with the title paperwork. Dealer title work must be applied for through ETR, unless it is an out of state title, disabled veteran exemption, non-resident, or other special circ*mstances.

It is the vehicle owner's responsibility to ensure their vehicle is properly registered. Vehicle owners must renew their registration every year during the 60-day period, which ends on their birthday. If the vehicle is owned by more than one person, then the birthday of the person's name that appears first on the title is used to determine the registration period. In other words, tags expire on the birthday of the first owner shown on the title. You should receive a bill 60 days prior to renewal. Penalties apply after the birthday deadline. Failure to receive a bill in the mail does not relieve the penalty. If you do not receive a bill, you can contact the Tag Office or go online to get your balance. This must be done in time to ensure registration by your birthday.

Individual to Individual Sales

Individual to Individual Sales are required to pay the TAVT upon applying for the title. Title must be applied for within 7 days of the date of purchase.

Georgia Liability Insurance

Georgia liability insurance is required to be transmitted to the state's database by your insurance company in order to register your vehicle. The vehicle must always be covered by liability insurance or a lapse in coverage penalty will apply. If you cancel the insurance, you must also cancel the registration.

The penalty for late registration is 10% of the tax ($5.00 minimum) and 25% of the tag fee. These penalties begin immediately following the due date.

Vehicle Tag Renewals

Vehicle Tag Renewals can be processed by mail by completing the renewal form received in the mail and returning it to the Tax Commissioners Office or bringing this form to the office. Renewals must be made on or before the birth date of the primary owner when owned by an individual, or the last day of the month for a business.

The penalty for late registration is 10% of the tax and 25% of the tag fee. These penalties begin immediately following the due date.

We accept check or cash for payment of Tag Renewals.

The telephone number for the tag office is (478) 625-7736. The office is located at 736 Peachtree Street, Louisville. Office hours are Monday - Friday 8:30 AM until 5:00 PM.

For further information regarding vehicle registration please visit the State of Georgia Department of Motor Vehicle Website http://dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles.

Jefferson County Tax|Motor Vehicles (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Edwin Metz

Last Updated:

Views: 5943

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (78 voted)

Reviews: 85% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Edwin Metz

Birthday: 1997-04-16

Address: 51593 Leanne Light, Kuphalmouth, DE 50012-5183

Phone: +639107620957

Job: Corporate Banking Technician

Hobby: Reading, scrapbook, role-playing games, Fishing, Fishing, Scuba diving, Beekeeping

Introduction: My name is Edwin Metz, I am a fair, energetic, helpful, brave, outstanding, nice, helpful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.